Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Sony Awards: The winners

So, we know that Chris Moyles was mocked - mocked - by being told that he's one of the very best broadcasters in Britain. But who else won Sony prizes?

Vanessa Feltz won speech personality of the year, although she beat Ian Wright on TalkSport to that one, so maybe not quite so unusual. Nick Ferrari won speech broadcaster (a subtly different category), which was more surprising

David Rodigan's Kiss programme won best specialist music show, Chris Evans took both music radio personality and the entertainment award, which seems to confirm the theory that Evans does his best work when he's not trying to be "Chris Evans off the telly".

Radio 3 was, as Gordon Smart pointed out, station of the year. Kerrang was best station broadcasting to an TSA of a million plus, somehow being specialist and general at the same time according to the judges (no, us neither.) BBC Hereford & Worcester won the station prize at the next tier down, and Beacon Radio in Shropshire picked up the best small station award.

Fun Kids - perhaps the most godawfully named radio staion in the entire world - picked up digital station of the year.

Music broadcaster of the year went to Mark Radcliffe, which is well-deserved. Although you have to feel sorry for Stuart Maconie who seems to have been inadvertently labelled a sidekick by the Sonys. Which isn't fair at all.

Winners in full:

The Music Programme Award

Words and Music – BBC Radio Arts and Radio 3 for Radio 3

The Specialist Music Programme Award

David Rodigan – Kiss Specialist Production Team for the Kiss Network

The Music Radio Personality of the Year

Chris Evans – BBC Radio 2

The Music Broadcaster of the Year

Mark Radcliffe – Smooth Operations for BBC Radio 2

The Music Special Award

Vaughan Williams: Valiant for Truth – BBC Radio 3

The Entertainment Award

Chris Evans Drivetime – BBC Radio 2

The Music Programming Award

Classic FM

The Drama Award

Mr Larkin's Awkward Day – BBC Radio Drama for Radio 4

The Sports Award

5 Live Olympic Breakfast – BBC News Programmes and BBC Sport for 5 Live

The Speech Award

Simon Mayo and Mark Kermode – BBC News for 5 Live

The News and Current Affairs Award

The World Today – BBC World Service News and Current Affairs for the World Service

The News Special Award

The Investigation: Never Too Old To Care – A Stark Production for BBC Radio Scotland

The News Journalist of the Year

Gavin Lee – BBC News for 5 Live

The Speech Radio Personality of the Year

Vanessa Feltz – BBC London 94.9

The Speech Broadcaster of the Year

Nick Ferrari – LBC 97.3

The Breakfast Show Award

5 Live Breakfast – BBC News for 5 Live

The Listener Participation Award

Electric Radio Brixton: Daily Show – Prison Radio Association and Electric Radio Brixton for Electric Radio Brixton

The Comedy Award

Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show! – Komedia Entertainment and Smooth Operations for BBC Radio 4

The Feature Award

Between The Ears: Staring At The Wall – BBC Radio Documentaries for Radio 3

The Interview Award

Feargal Keane interviews Lana Vandenberghe – Taking a Stand, BBC Radio Current Affairs for Radio 4

The Breaking News Award

The Rangers Riot – BBC Radio Manchester

The Live Event Coverage Award

Absolute Coldplay – Absolute Radio and TBI Media for Absolute Radio

The Community Award

A Sound Fix (Spots) – Prison Radio Association for Electric Radio Brixton

The Themed Programming Award

Family Life – BBC Hereford and Worcester

The Promo Award

Kiss The Planet – What Will You Do? – Kiss Imaging Team for the Kiss Network

The Competition Award

Facebuck – Galaxy Network Imaging for Galaxy (Manchester, Birmingham, Yorkshire and North East)

The Station Imaging Award


The Internet Programme Award

The Budgerigar and the Prisoner – Clifton Diocese.com

The Multiplatform Radio Award

Wimbledon – BBC Radio 5 Live Interactive for 5 Live

Station of the Year (Under 300,000 listeners)

Beacon Radio (Shropshire)

Station of the Year (300,000 – one million)

BBC Hereford and Worcester

Station of the Year (One million plus)

Kerrang 105.2

Digital Station of the Year

Fun Kids

UK Station of the Year

BBC Radio 3


Anonymous said...

Hello, I'd just like to say that Stuart Maconie was nominated for the same award as Mark Radcliffe so he had a chance of winning.


WE ARE said...

Judging from their 'This just in...' segment, it would appear Mr. Maconie is in fact a reader of XRRF. And you're absolutely right- Mark Radcliffe winning was well deserved.

Simon said...

The best moments of the night, having watched most of the webcast, aren't documented there - The New York Dolls presenting Radcliffe's award and taking minutes to get to the stage, a pissed Martin O'Neill going on about the Small Faces when he should have been doling out a special achievement prize, one of the award winners marvelling of another award presenter "I'm sitting near Gene Hunt! Fire up the Ferrari!"

david siregar said...

Thank you, your article is very good

viagra asli
jual viagra
toko viagra
toko viagra asli
jual viagra asli
viagra jakarta
viagra asli jakarta
toko viagra jakarta
jual viagra jakarta
agen viagra jakarta
agen viagra
cialis asli
cialis jakarta
cialis asli jakarta
titan gel asli
titan gel jakarta
titan gel asli jakarta
viagra cod jakarta
obat viagra jakarta
obat viagra asli
viagra usa
viagra original
obat viagra
obat kuat viagra
jual cialis
toko cialis
obat cialis
obat cialis asli
obat kuat cialis
obat cialis jakarta
toko cialis jakarta
jual cialis jakarta
agen cialis jakarta
toko titan gel
jual titan gel
vitamale asli
permen soloco asli
maxman asli
vimax asli
titan gel
hammer of thor
hammer of thor asli
hammer of thor jakarta
hammer of thor asli jakarta

Post a comment

As a general rule, posts will only be deleted if they reek of spam.